Avengers (4th series)


Series Details
Publication Date: 
July 2010 to January 2013
Issue Numbering: 

Following the bleakness of his New Avengers (1st series), Bendis decided to flip the tone and created a short-lived banner imprint called "the Heroic Age," which was more traditional in storytelling style. Along with a second New Avengers series, which also had a more positive outlook, Bendis simultaneously wrote another title named simply Avengers, the fourth of its name.

The series ended with #35, which was Bendis' last issue. The title (and that of New Avengers) was turned over to Jonathan Hickman, who relaunched both as Avengers (5th series) and New Avengers (3rd series).

Annuals / Specials: 

2 annuals, named for the years in which they were published (2012 & 2013). The was also a "point1" issue (#12.1)

Years Published Name of Series Issue Numbering Brief Description
1963 to 1996 Avengers (1st series) #1-402 original series, created by Lee & Kirby
1996 to 1997 Avengers (2nd series) #1-13 Heroes Reborn
1998 to 2004 Avengers (3rd series) #1-84, #500-503 Kurt Busiek series, ended w/ Avengers Disassembled
2010 to 2013 Avengers (4th series) #1-36 Bendis series, Heroic Age
2013 to 2015 Avengers (5th series) #1-44 Jonathan Hickman series
2016 All-New, All-Different Avengers #1-15 Mark Waid series, Civil War II
2017 to 2018 Avengers (6th series) #1-11, #672-690
2018 to 2023 Avengers (7th series) #1-66 Jason Aaron series

#1-6 - Heroic Age
#13-17 - Fear Itself
#18-21 - Shattered Heroes
#25-30 - Avengers vs. X-Men
#31-34 - End Times

Last Updated: 
24th September 2023 by Douglas Mangum