New Avengers (1st series)


Series Details
New Avengers (1st series)
Publication Date: 
January 2005 to June 2010
Issue Numbering: 

After "disassembling" his team in the last four issues of Avengers, Brian Michael Bendis launched this first New Avengers series, comprised of many of his favorite characters. The events of the next few years of the series comprised the launching point for major Marvel events, from Civil War, Secret Invasion, Dark Reign and the Siege.

After such a dark tone, Bendis wanted a fresh start and ended this run with #64 and relaunching with a second New Avengers series, written in tandem with a new "adjectiveless" Avengers series.

Annuals / Specials: 

3 annuals

Years Published Name of Series Issue Numbering Brief Description
2005 to 2010 New Avengers (1st series) #1-64 1st Bendis series, rogue Avengers
2010 to 2013 New Avengers (2nd series) #1-34 2nd Bendis series, new Heroic Age
2013 to 2015 New Avengers (3rd series) #1-33 Hickman series, Incursions storyline
2015 to 2017 New Avengers (4th series) #1-18 Avengers Idea Mechanics

Crossovers/Events/Major Stories:

#1-6 - Breakout
#7-10 - the Sentry
#11-13 - Ronin
#17-20 - the Collective
#21-25 - Civil War
#27-31 - Revolution (aka the Initiative)
#38-47 - Secret Invasion
#48-55 - Dark Reign
#61-64 - the Siege
Last Updated: 
25th September 2023 by Douglas Mangum