New Mutants (2nd series)


Series Details
New Mutants (2nd series)
Publication Date: 
July 2003 to June 2004
Issue Numbering: 

Early in Morrison's run on New X-Men (1st series), the Xavier Institite opened up to a large class of students. This second New Mutant series followed the increased student body, with the surviving original team of New Mutants serving as instructors.

The series only lasted 13 issues but was immediately replaced with New X-Men: Academy X, which changed names to simply New X-Men (becoming the second series of that name) with #20.

Years Published Name of Series Issue Numbering Brief Description
1983 to 1991 New Mutants (1st series) #1-100 original series, replaced with X-Force (1st series)
2003 to 2004 New Mutants (2nd series) #1-13 prelude to New X-Men: Academy X series, aka New X-Men (2nd series)
2009 to 2012 New Mutants (3rd series) #1-50 Zeb Wells' series, Necrosha, Second Coming, Regenesis
2020 to 2023 New Mutants (4th series) #1-33 Krakoa era

Crossovers/Events/Major Stories:
#1: first Wind Dancer
#2: first Wallflower, 1st Hellion , first Anole, first Mercury, first Rockslide
#3: first Wither
#4: first Prodigy
#5: first Elixir
#8: first Surge
#10: Elixir restores Wolfsbane’s powers

Last Updated: 
26th December 2023 by Ruth